Why was the Code of Ethics of the National Association of real estate Boards modified in 1950?

Why was the Code of Ethics of the National Association of Real Estate Boards was modified in 1950?

In 1950, due to the Supreme Court decision in Shelley v. Kraemer, which struck down protective covenants like the one above, the Realtor Code of Ethics was amended as follows: … Realtors who actually disagreed could be fined or removed from the local board due to selling a property to the wrong person.

Why was the code of ethics adopted in real estate?

Correct Answer: To establish standards of conduct for the industry. There were no real estate licensing laws when the Code was adopted in 1913. One of the primary purposes of the Code was to establish professional standards of conduct for the real estate industry.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the best real estate market in the world?

When was the Code of Ethics updated?

On August 4, 2017, the NASW Delegate Assembly approved the most substantive revisions to the NASW Code of Ethics since 1996.

What is Article 10 of the code of ethics?

Article 10 prohibits REALTORS® from discriminating on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin, sexual orientation, or gender identity in the provision of professional services and in employment practices.

What is the code of ethics based on the concept of?

The Code of Ethics is based on the concept of:

Let the public fend for themselves.

What are the code of ethics?

A code of ethics is a guide of principles designed to help professionals conduct business honestly and with integrity. … A code of ethics, also referred to as an “ethical code,” may encompass areas such as business ethics, a code of professional practice, and an employee code of conduct.

Who is responsible for enforcing the code of ethics?

Associations of REALTORS® are responsible for enforcing the REALTOR® Code of Ethics. The Code of Ethics requires a higher standard of professionalism than what is required by law or regulation. Note that only real estate professionals who choose to become REALTORS® are subject to this code.

What are the three major sections of the Code of Ethics?

The Code of Ethics is divided into three major sections, “Duties to Clients and Customers,” “Duties to the Public,” and “Duties to REALTORS.”

How many times has the Code of Ethics been revised?

Many social workers are surprised to learn that the profession’s code has been revised twice since NASW was formed in 1955. Here’s the brief history: The first NASW code was introduced in 1960 and fit on one page.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Is real estate agent the same as real estate salesperson?

What was the protected class added to Article 10 of the Code of Ethics in 2010?

In 1989, Article 10 of the Code was amended to include religion, handicap, and familial status among protected classes that can not be denied equal professional services, mirroring the classes included in federal Fair Housing laws. In 2010, Article 10 was revised to include sexual orientation as a protected class.

When filing an Ethics complaint What should be cited?

Your complaint should include a narrative description of the circumstances that lead you to believe the Code of Ethics may have been violated. Your complaint must cite one or more of the seventeen (17) Articles of the Code of Ethics which may have been violated.

What is a major problem organizations tend to have when implementing organizational ethics program?

What is a major problem organizations tend to have when implementing organizational ethics program? Top managers don’t integrate codes, values, and standards into their firms’ corporate cultures.